For those that like my Drone :)

Hi Guys – just sharing some test for the day.  Also procrastinating before I go back in the yard to mow.  1st ffd Dahila – I have started taking some media of my Herb Garden – but it will take a while yet before I finish showing that off.  I will make my first HTML webpage on My Herb Garden. 🙂  That’s a special coming up sooner than later I hope.

OK – I cut and past some info I shared at the Phantom Pilots Forum Site:

I was going to put these in the photos section, but I really wanted to talk more about the topic of Taking Photos at the distance and altitude limits. That is to say where the drone is about to lose signal and any further chance for taking that special shot before it becomes more an issue of getting your drone back to base.

First – here are two shots from my altitude tests today.

Altitude Test One

Altitude Test 2

____________________________________________________

Now there is nothing really special about these photos with regards to SUBJECT material. I’m simply experimenting. Doing my best to know my drones limits. Knowing when to back off before signal loss is key to setting up for a good composition. That’s the main reason I now have four batteries. Many times I will deplete a full battery just to get that one shot! Most of the time spent in the air is getting to location as quick as I can. Generally I will use a previous Battery for the sole purpose of gauging signal loss and perhaps do some practice flying when I get back – IF I GET BACK!!! lol – I’m generally good at getting my drone back. I’m impressed with the tech in this thing and it offers up to be quite the tool for over active minds like mine. I do note* My heart has jumped more than once with sudden gust of wind with prevailing wind pressure working against a fast draining battery on some of my returns.

Learning to read the weather really helps when taking into account the many factors for distant flights. Defiantly something I would love to blog about.

One must be careful to tune into that very edge where you still have control to slowly turn you drone and tilt your camera – that window where signal still permits that last chance to gauge you subject and take your shot – You know your on a roll when you can snap off 3 of four – WOOO HOOOOO!!! is the feeling I get … Now the challenge is getting back home, where a fresh battery awaits. :)

I’m always doing tests like the above and getting all kinds of different results – I’m starting to see patterns over time and it’s been rather fun to record the results.

If anyone knows a blog or links to places that deal with this kind of thing – please do sing out!

I wonder on what issues one has to watch out for with regards to cloud – No doubt I will record my own drone affairs there in good time. One I get better at gauging these distance shots – I’ll spend more time in Google maps, looking for places to go. I kind of already do. But just like with any of my other lenses – I’m still getting my eye in with this drone.

I think making a chart detailing the Field of view at different heights and distances would be good – save me some battery power knowing such things (as again – I often use a previous battery when not in the know at places I’ve never been)

Finding good places to launch with appropriate line of site – working out where the sun will be at whatever time – and whatever else that all counts … anything you can think off or would like to add – PLEASE DO …

I really don’t know that much – just sharing what I can …

I don’t mind the video side of things and have been learning quite a bit there – but my passion is for Photography – I find it more my pace – more my thing.
_________________________________________

I best go start a blog and that way – next time instead of wasting space … I’ll just share the link ;)

PS – Thanks for the tip about going slow!!!!! It’s definitely helped me to go as far as I do – and most of all GET BACK HOME. So many stories about this kind of thing – but usually involve the loss and or crash of someones drone. Touch wood – :)

Now back to my friends at my actual Blog – if your still with me here – I hope you all have a good rest as you sleep tonight!  Thanks for making me feel appreciated. 🙂

additional Notes:

Actually I add another note for me to use later elsewhere:

When losing signal at the most outer reaches – opportunity for a retake is lost due to the time it takes whilst in “Coming Home Mode”.

Often the video signal with lock up on one image – and or black out completely –

Altitude VS Distance

Altitude often results in connection loss for longer – The drone will first fly overhead where it take a longer time to reconnect. Often, until it has come down up to 500 or more meters depending on altitude gained before signal loss.

So far – I have gained best results by:

Altitude 100meters to 120meters when aiming for a distance of 1.6km

Distance in front – 280m – 300m when aiming for 800m or above altitude.
___________________________________________________________________________

Again:

[i]When losing signal at the most outer reaches – opportunity for a retake is lost due to the time it takes whilst in “Coming Home Mode”.[/i]

There is more play to reconnect when aiming for distance shots with the above in mind. Often my best shots at distance – is knowing to pull up around the 1km Mark and start shooting form there –

Thus far – I often get good results at 1km with altitude between 300m and 500m. (changes in temperature and moisture also seem to affect greatly) … as to wind conditions and position of sun … still gauging those as I go. Environment is pretty much a given, although power plants and lines can sometime creep into the equation – I’m not a town person – but is why it sometimes creeps up on me. (when I should be!) Australia is also WAY behind the times with above ground lines being more maintained as opposed to upgrading the grid! Apart from the fact that one should not fly whilst planes are about – although I have seen plains where they should be not … regardless of the inbuilt “restrictions” – a passing plane can result in signal loss.
____________________

Food for thought.

3 thoughts on “For those that like my Drone :)

  1. Evening guys interesting stuff with the drone be careful around hawks! I stumbled across this video whilst trying to find some information on Bitterns ( I managed to get a shot of one a crappy one though there are only around 100 of these here in the UK so I was quite pleased with myself ). Here is the link to the video
    http://www.theguardian.com/world/video/2014/oct/10/hawk-attacks-drone-video
    must be quite disturbing to a drone owner.

    It’s great you are getting so much from the Drone Dave and it’s good of you to bring us along on your journey.

  2. Yes – Birds are not that shy when it comes to the drone. The flocks I videoed not long back seem to play more than anything – I was grateful that they seemed able not to get caught up in the props. Whilst the props are rather flimsy when not spinning – I do believe they would pose a serous threat to a bird made contact with its talons or any other body.

    It does worry me, because I am the type of photographer that does NOT stick insect in his freezer to get better close up shots, or shove a pin through a butterfly in attempt to collect them. I have seen a few of our Osprey Birds (Birds of Prey) investigate it, however I find slowing the drone down and backing of usually leaves the encounter one of mere interest.

    In fact – I hope to soon be able to read the situation well enough and fly well enough to show such an encounter – But the larger birds are quite fast and hard to follow. I guess I could say the same for the little ones, however it’s easier to follow a flock in that regard as opposed to one bird.

Leave a Reply

